Mitsubishi eclipse other

Mitsubishi! > Cars > Problems/Complaints > USA > Parts > other > eclipse



1989 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 89 - Other
Complaint: no summary listed for above vehicle. *ak .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Air conditioner
Complaint: spark plug wires failed. *slc .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Air conditioner
Complaint: headlamp failure due to wiring harness malfunctioning. consumer was seeking reimbursement since the headlights were on recall. *yh....*ak .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Headlight
Complaint: headlamp failure due to wiring harness malfunctioning. consumer was seeking reimbursement since the headlights were on recall. *yh....*ak .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Headlight Switch
Complaint: consumer states that left headlight is shorting out. dealer notified.*ak .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Other
Complaint: no summary .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Seats
Complaint: driver's seat hinge broke on the right side. would not restrain driver in the event of an accident. *ak .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: during vehicle operation smoke was noticed coming from under the hood, resulting in a vehicle fire, related to the fuel injection system. *ak .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: noticed raw gas fumes entering into interior and puddle underneath of vehicle, independent garage found leak came from strap which holds up tank, fixed. *ak .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: idle speed control motor failed for the second time in the life of the car (that i am aware of). dealer told me that this was a common problem and they could not do anything for me except sell me a ne

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Hood Latch
Complaint: while driving about 50 mph front hood became unlatched/ flying/ smashing windshield, and hitting roof of vehicle. *ak .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Other
Complaint: the consumer requested information regarding safety recalls. *ph *jb .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Other
Complaint: transfer unit failed as i was pulling away from a stoplight. rockville mitsubishi was notified, before the recall on the transfer unit was issued. they determined the transfer unit was bad but could

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Other
Complaint: vehicle would surge and check engine light came on and the engine died while driving. dealer contacted and no response to registered letter. vehicle cannot be driven. several repair attempts however c

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Child Seat
Complaint: is there a correct way of installing a forward facing child safety seat in the rear of my 93 eclipse. we are unable to determine this ourselves, and do not know which resources to contact. .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Door Latch
Complaint: door locks failed on both sides. cannot open with keys. can open okay from within. i believe this should be considered a safety issue because a young, old, or disabled passenger could be trapped insi

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: vehicle bucks and stalls when cold, also slow acceleration after repeated repair attempts. *skd .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Gas Hose
Complaint: transfer case fuel leak; also fuel filter leak. *ak .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Hood Latch
Complaint: hood latch broke. the hood flew up, almost causing driver to lose control of vehicle. the hood cracked part of the windshield and bend the top of vehicle. .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Other
Complaint: water pump bypass hose clamp weak, causing anti-freeze to leak onto engine. .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Seats
Complaint: water pump bypass hose clamp weak, causing anti-freeze to leak onto engine. .

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Air conditioner
Complaint: noisy air conditioner. *skd .

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Air conditioner
Complaint: air conditioner stopped blowing cold air, turned out it had begun leaking. also, the dealer had told us (and the owner's manual states) that we had the new freon-free system when in reality we do not

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Air conditioner
Complaint: vehicle completely cuts off while driving, no warning lights, no prior indication at all, traveling speed 60-65mph. dealer cannot duplicate the problem. *ak vehicle experiences vibration and pulls t

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Air conditioner
Complaint: transmission was sticking when the vehicle was in drive . also, air conditioner made a humming sound when turned on. speedometer went from 20 mphs to 140 mhs and it broke, and the needle came ou

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Headlight Switch
Complaint: 5-speed manual vehicle shutsdown periodically when driving at any speed. tt .

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Hood Latch
Complaint: defective hood latches (primary and secondary) broke, causing the hood to fly up 2 times, which almost caused an accident. please provide further information. *ak .

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Other
Complaint: air conditioner stopped blowing cold air, turned out it had begun leaking. also, the dealer had told us (and the owner's manual states) that we had the new freon-free system when in reality we do not

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Tailgate latch
Complaint: rear hatch latch replaced due to hatch not closing. *skd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Air conditioner
Complaint: vehicle stalls when headlights/air conditioner are on and car is idling. *sd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Air conditioner
Complaint: air conditioner clutch failed. *skd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Air conditioner
Complaint: upon driving my vehicle 5/12/99 the drivebelt began shredding. 5/13/99 the problem fixed with both belts being replaced. while driving on 5/14/99 a belt fell off, resulting both belts gone and loss

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Air conditioner
Complaint: sunroof does not close completely by motor, and need allan wrench to close it; power door locks do not work; window glass rattles and is loose at weatherstrip; fuel vapors smelled periodically, parti

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Air conditioner
Complaint: sunroof does not close completely by motor, and need allan wrench to close it; power door locks do not work; window glass rattles and is loose at weatherstrip; fuel vapors smelled periodically, parti

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Air conditioner
Complaint: i have had to replace 3 brand new batteries which were still under warranty, because they were totally drained. i believe there is something wrong with the electrical system. there is nothing that i

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Brake light
Complaint: engine continually leaking oil, not able to fix leak. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Brake light
Complaint: middle brake light arm broken due to faulty design. wear and tear not applicable. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Door Latch
Complaint: i own a 1995 mitsubishi eclipse and my driver side door handle came off when i was opening the door. i opened it gently and not rough and i also know other people who have had the same problem and i

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Door Latch
Complaint: while opening up the door on the passenger's side, the door handle unexpectedly sheared off without warning. the consumer was able to drive the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. the mechanic inf

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Electrical Equipment
Complaint: cigarette lighter won't work. *tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Filling Fuel Tank
Complaint: fuel system repaired due to stalling/starting problems. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: for the past two days my car has been missing(the engine not idling as normal). i took it to a mechanic who check the engine. he said that the number 2 cylinder is not firing properly. he change the s

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Fuel Injector
Complaint: spark plugs failed. *sd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Fuel Pump
Complaint: fuel system repaired due to stalling/starting problems. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Fuel Pump
Complaint: there is a strong smell of gas fumes on the inside of my car. after some research i found a recall (ref. nhtsa campaign id # 96v158000 and 96v158001). after reading the recalls' information i removed

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Fuel Pump
Complaint: fuel leakage from the gas tank sending unit. tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: many vehicles of this same model year were recalled for a gas smell/ fire hazard caused by an improperly installed fuel tank gasket. my car does not have a matching vin so the dealer says i am not co

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: there was a strong odor of gas inside the vehicle. *jb .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: while fueling vehicle flames shot out of the gas tank resulting in complete destruction of vehicle from fire, possible recall component failure of the fuel gaskets (recall in 1996). *mjs .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: consumer smells gas fumes when driving. also, smells fumes when air conditioner is on. there is a recall, 96v158001, on vehicle's make/model; but this vehicle is not included due to vin. *ak *tt

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: while parked or when driving there is a strong fuel smell in vehicle. it stays in vehicle for a while, then it goes away. contacted dealer, and the dealer was not willing to do anything. *ak consum

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: seat belts inoperative working. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: dealerships make no effort to solve problems, simply say that they don't see it upon inspection. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: there is a recall (id# 96v158001) on this year / make vehicle. the dealer says it does not apply to my car. there has been a fuel smell coming from the right rear and inside of the car since shortly

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: at times the i can smell fuel fumes inside/outside of the car. the is no leakage, only the fumes are escaping the fuel tank. there was a recall on the 1995 mitsubishe eclipse gs 1995 (same as mi

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: there are strong fuel fumes internal and externalm which cause dizzy spells and minor stomach aches. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: while driving oil leaked out of the rear tranfer case, causing all 4 tires to lock up. had recall 96-v-158-000 fixed pertaining to this same part prior to inccident.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: when filling gas tank up there is a strong smell inside vehicle of fuel. that smell will last until about the time vehicle reaches 3 quaters of a tank. contacted dealer, and the dealer was not willi

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: recall remdey did not correct recall 96v158001 problem. fuel tank gaskets for the fuel pump or gauge unit could have been incorrectly installed, allowing overflow of fuel or fumes. please give any

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: there is a fuel smell from rear of vehicle. recall 96v158000 does not include this vehicle. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: recall 96v158000 concerning fuel tank problems. consumer contacted dealership for repairs, but was informed that this vehicle was not covered under recall due to vin although consumer's vehicle

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight
Complaint: left front sealed beam came apart causing the lights to fog up, dealer will not repair free of charge because the vehicle is out of warranty. nlm .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight
Complaint: consumer states that the head light lens covers are fogging up, dealer states that the fogging is due to seal failure of the glue used to seal the lens cover to the headlight assembly, this condition

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight
Complaint: consumer states that the head light lens covers are fogging up, dealer states that the fogging is due to seal failure of the glue used to seal the lens cover to the headlight assembly, this condition

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight
Complaint: when driving after rain the headlights build a residue that covers the eye of lamp,obstructing visibility while driving. also, srs light illumitated, indicating that there is a problem with the air

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight
Complaint: driver's side headlight is weathered and fogged from sunlight. dealer has been contacted .please provide further details.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight Beam Dimmer Switch
Complaint: the position, rotation of turning the high beams on, causes the lights to turn off completely. tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight concealment
Complaint: drivers' side headlight is totally fogged. just look at anyone who bought an eclipse from this year and the problem is there. although it may not be considered a high level safety issue, i feel that

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight concealment
Complaint: the driver side headlight lens has fogged up, causing the power light produces to decrease dramatically. this makes it hard to drive at night. *jb .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Headlight concealment
Complaint: headlights on vehicle will get fogged up while consumer is driving causeing consumer not to see very well at night. contacted dealer. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Hood Latch
Complaint: while driving hood latch popped off, causing the hood to rattle. dealer has fixed vehicle. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: both horns short-circuited simultaneously. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: horn inoperative. *sd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: front end misalignment, causing premature tire wear, also pulsating brakes and replaced belts and horn. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: seat belts inoperative working. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: the horn buttons on steering wheel failed. it required replacement along with the replacement of the air bag. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: horn failed. *skd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: sunroof does not close completely by motor, and need allan wrench to close it; power door locks do not work; window glass rattles and is loose at weatherstrip; fuel vapors smelled periodically, parti

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: sunroof does not close completely by motor, and need allan wrench to close it; power door locks do not work; window glass rattles and is loose at weatherstrip; fuel vapors smelled periodically, parti

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: master cylinder failed resultingin an accident; also replaced front brake rotors; vehicle hesitates/bucks on acceleration and has fast idle; also, horns inoperable and replaced both rear hatch strut

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: horn assembly has failed three times, each time that horn assembly was repaired. dealer has to replace the airbag. manufacturer has been notified. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Horn
Complaint: poor performance on the horn of the vehicle. tt *slc .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Interior Lighting
Complaint: cigarette lighter won't work. *tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: battery is not holding charge, replaced. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: vehicle revved from idle to about 2000-3000 rpms while driving. also, check engine light would come on. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: engine check light comes on/off. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: fixed numerous times but keeps going out. no safety defect mentioned. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: i have had to replace 3 brand new batteries which were still under warranty, because they were totally drained. i believe there is something wrong with the electrical system. there is nothing that i

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: since october 2001, my eclipse has been stalling without warning. both the ``check engine'' and ``oil'' lights illuminate and i lose control of the vehicle as it slows to a stop. this has happened to

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: since october 2001, my eclipse has been stalling without warning. both the ``check engine'' and ``oil'' lights illuminate and i lose control of the vehicle as it slows to a stop. this has happened to

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Other
Complaint: engine light came on. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: battery failed. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: driver's seat belt failed to hold driver secure during rollover accident, resulting in driver being thrown from vehicle/death. (attorney for client) *skd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Seats
Complaint: both horns short-circuited simultaneously. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Seats
Complaint: driver's shoulder harness failed to hold driver secure during rollover accident. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Seats
Complaint: during cold weather, the coolant and hand brake indicator lights illuminate. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Seats
Complaint: car spun out of control, hitting a telephone pole, due to ball joint failure, air bags failed and the seat broke. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Air conditioner
Complaint: vehicle makes high screeching noise when it is cold. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Brake light
Complaint: i have had to replace brakes 4x's. they should be recalled. issued complaint. dealer unhelpful. breaks squeal loudly even after being fixed. should be able to retrieve number of times taken to deale

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Brake light
Complaint: i have had to replace brakes 4x's. they should be recalled. issued complaint. dealer unhelpful. breaks squeal loudly even after being fixed. should be able to retrieve number of times taken to deale

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: warpedbrake rototrs, causing brake failure, also fuel injection//sunroof malfunctioned. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: oil leaks, antenna problems, fuel problem, meaning the car does not run correctly. now the car does not work at all .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: vehicle serviced per recall for fuel tank malfunction. after repair, fuel tank was filled, fuel was later found dripping from tank area and puddled on the ground. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: consumer states that fuel tank leaks gasoline, also consumer can't get any help to remedy the problem. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: when filling up the gas tank the gas came gushing out of the bottom near exhaust manifold. please describe. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Headlight
Complaint: the vehicles left headlight had a white film over it which caused the light not to extend the full distance. dealer notified. *nlm scc .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Headlight
Complaint: healights failed to operate prperly. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Hood Latch
Complaint: for no apparent reason, while driving 60 mph, hood flew open. driver was able to pull off the road safely. safety latch did not hold the hood. vehicle was taken to a body shop for repairs. please p

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Horn
Complaint: prior to expiration of warranty, driver side airbag was determined by dealership that airbag was defective because horn would not work. in january 2001 i had the car in for a head gasket and sked for

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Other
Complaint: i bought a 1996 mitsubishi eclipse and on the way home it broke down completly. i researched the car and found evidence that the odometer has either been disconected or rolled back. the reason that i

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Other
Complaint: 1996 mitsubishi eclipse. *****dims 11 ivoq entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis****770819.*ak *jb .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Other
Complaint: this component is part of a recall (sr-99-002) and the dealer (miami lakes mitsubishi) refuses to replace this part at no charge.. please help. no afety defect listed in the summary. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Other
Complaint: engine check light illuminated indicating a problem with head gaskets. dealer replaced head gaskets. however, engine check light remained on. cause unknown. please give any further details.*ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: problem with speaker cover. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: speaker failed. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: speaker covers failed continually. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: seat latches malfunction. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: vehicle makes high screeching noise when it is cold. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: vehicle will begin to shake/stutter when brakes are applied. will stop and let go when applying brakes. dealer replaced rotors 3 times, both front brake pads. cannot explain problem. *ak consumer

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seats
Complaint: transmission won't pull or go into gear due to a failed pressure plate. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seats
Complaint: driver's front seat rail assembly failure. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seats
Complaint: vehicle makes high screeching noise when it is cold. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Seats
Complaint: vehicle makes high screeching noise when it is cold. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Turn Signal Flasher
Complaint: vehicle will begin to shake/stutter when brakes are applied. will stop and let go when applying brakes. dealer replaced rotors 3 times, both front brake pads. cannot explain problem. *ak consumer

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Air conditioner
Complaint: the vehicle expericed a burnt faint smell coming from the defective air conditioner, later the vehicle experienced a fire on the passenger's door and vent cover. dealer said fire was started by the s

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Back up light
Complaint: back up lights malfunctioning. *yc .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: electronic control unit failed. .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Fuel Pump
Complaint: vehicle will stall while driving regardless of speed and without warning. dealer has replaced fuelpump/ ignition switch and computer, but defect still occurs.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: vehicle has a bad gasoline smell. contacted dealer, and dealer said there is nothing they can do.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Tank Assembly
Complaint: while driving at approximately 30mp right front axle broke due to poor metal, causing loss of control and gas tank to rupture. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Other
Complaint: no summary .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Other
Complaint: engine check light was coming on and vehicle was losing gas. check valve had gone bad and needed to be replaced. also, dealer said that if in an accident it would't rollover, it could catch on fir

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Seats
Complaint: excessive movement in driver seat. clutch malfunction. vehicle has surged causing crash. excessive tire wear. no notice of recall 97v08100 or 97v081001. .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Tail Lights
Complaint: the rear right tail light blinks really fast causing the bulb to blow. vehicle has been taken to the dealer & mechanic and they only replace the bulb, they will not check any of the electric componen

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Air conditioner
Complaint: air conditioner froze up, snapping the belt, part of the belt went up into inside of timing cover and valve train and locked up other parts. consumer feels this was very dangerous, could have had an

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Door Latch
Complaint: front brakes on 1998 mistubishi eclipse vibrate when brakes applied. vehicle has experienced this brake failure 4 times in the last 4 years. rotors resurfaced at 12,000 miles. rotors replaced at 27

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Door Latch
Complaint: driver side door latch on a 1998 mitsubishi eclipse broke.*mr *ts *jb .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Fuel Injection Rail
Complaint: while depressing gas pedal vehicle started hesitating. consumer was told fuel injection was clogged. this poblem has been repaired twice. please provide further information. *ak .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Fuel Injection System
Complaint: this is the second time i am writing a letter of complaint regarding my car (enclosed you will find the first letter). i just can't understand why are you so cheap???? .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Fuel Pump
Complaint: while driving at any speed and when applying force to accelerator pedal without prior warning, vehicle failed to accelerate, causing loss of all power, and resulting in a near accident. consumer

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Horn
Complaint: consumer states horn is inoperative.*jb .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Latch Lock
Complaint: had recall done for lateral arm, dealer informed me head gasket was blown, two weeks later both door handles broke off, maybe the door handles shouldn't be made of plastic. the car has been through t

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Lighting
Complaint: various lights failed. *slc .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Manual equipment
Complaint: the car just stopped moving in the middle of a highway and their was no wierd sounds to forwarn me of anything! this happened in january 2001 and the dealer said it was the clutch. the dealer was rud

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Other
Complaint: while driving the vehicle lost power. the dealer stated that the sensor needed to be replaced. ts there was an odor in the vehicle, the clutch had gone out, the rear brakes squeaked, and water lea

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Other
Complaint: 1998 mitsubishi eclipse. *mr *scc *nlm **dimsii ivoq entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis*70808 .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Other
Complaint: my 1998 mitsubishi eclipse has had several problems from the time it was purchased. at 50,000 miles the engine head gasket had to be replaced. and today the engine has a rod thrown and i have been to

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Other
Complaint: i bought my used 1998 mitsubishi eclipse in march of 2003. in june of 2003, my drivers door handle broke. my warranty wouldn't cover it and the dealership wanted to charge me $137 to fix it. i said

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Other
Complaint: consumer displeased with vehicle television advertising. .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: consumer states horn is inoperative.*jb .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: consumer states horn is inoperative.*jb .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: rental car; during rear impact 55 to 60 mph, the driver's side seatback collapsed into the rear seat. please provide any details. *ak .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Seats
Complaint: front brakes on 1998 mistubishi eclipse vibrate when brakes applied. vehicle has experienced this brake failure 4 times in the last 4 years. rotors resurfaced at 12,000 miles. rotors replaced at 27

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Seats
Complaint: seat adjuster sticks. *yc .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 98 - Door Latch
Complaint: both of my outside handles on my car fell off within a couple months of each other. i didn't realize that my passenger side handle fell off until i saw it missing on day. the driver side handle fell

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Air conditioner
Complaint: transmission got stuck on 2nd gear, then another occasion in 3rd gear, cause: blown circuit/sensor.... air cond. does not turn on at all at times, not even the fan, turns on by itself after driving fo

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Door Latch
Complaint: manual transmission failure. stick shift would pop out of 5th gear on occassion and then started to pop out of gear in 4th then complete transmission failure. car has less than 43000 miles on it. i've

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Door Latch
Complaint: as i was getting into my car, my driver's side door handle fell off into my hand. i am now having to open the door by getting in on the passenger side and opening my door through the inside door hand

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Door Latch
Complaint: while trying to open the drivers door on my son's 1999 eclipse the door handle just broke off in my hand causing my son to have to enter the car from the passenger side. i questioned other people with

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Electrical Equipment
Complaint: while driving about 65 mph and when using the lighter, it popped out, landing on driver's seat while driver had to keep eyes on the road at the same time. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Other
Complaint: since the first month i have owned the car, the car frequently idles low (~500rpm) when the weather is warm. car has no power and will sometimes stall when i remove my foot from the gas. car has a 5

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Other
Complaint: engine check light keeps coming on. vehicle has died a couple of times. consumer states vehicle shakes. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: door on driver side leaks sealant-have taken to dealer 4 times. 1st excuse was the heat was melting it (s. texas)--it's not that hot anymore....also, stereo cd player is not playing cd's--it spits th

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Seats
Complaint: the seat broke while driver was on the highway. we took it to the dealership and service person indicated that seat broke due to over heating during the welding. my concern is that the welding is perf

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Seats
Complaint: due to design of seat belts when in use fabric would fold & bind up & get into the locking mechanism,causing it to jam solid, resulting in no movement. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Air conditioner
Complaint: when depressing the clutch while in motion the gear would not shift properly or not at all into first/second or third gear. this almost caused a vehicle crash. they informed consumer that the vehicle

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Air conditioner
Complaint: violent deployment of the air bag caused eye injury to the driver, the consumer may have sustained permanent injury to the left eye. nlm .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Air conditioner
Complaint: a/c suction hose failure/coolant leaked out. right out of warranty.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Air conditioner
Complaint: consumers daughter was driving, noticed black smoke coming through air conditioning vents, vehicle looked to be on fire, consumer took vehicle to dealer, and they could not determine what had cause th

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Air conditioner
Complaint: consumers daughter was driving, noticed black smoke coming through air conditioning vents, vehicle looked to be on fire, consumer took vehicle to dealer, and they could not determine what had cause th

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Air conditioner
Complaint: air conditioner leaking fluid.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Fog light
Complaint: consumers daughter was driving, noticed black smoke coming through air conditioning vents, vehicle looked to be on fire, consumer took vehicle to dealer, and they could not determine what had cause th

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Fuel Delivery
Complaint: vehicle engine fire cuased by defective "c" clamp on fuel line. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Headlight
Complaint: the plastic socket that the light bulbs screw into are rusted and corroded. this caused headlights to malfunction while driving. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Headlight
Complaint: no summary listed for above vehicle. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Headlight
Complaint: consumer contacted the dealer in reference to nhtsa recall 99v305000/manufacturer's recall sr98002. vehicle was at the dealer all day, recall work was not completed. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Hood Latch
Complaint: auto was purchased new and has been maintained 100% by dealership. hood latch failure so as not being able to open hood to service engine or anything under hood. have been advised that bumper has to b

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Other
Complaint: cracked dashboard .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Other
Complaint: my dashboard is cracking all over and the paint is oxidizing (no clear coat?). i have only used clear coat safe products on my car and these conditions started at the end of 2002 and beginning of 200

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Radio CD Player
Complaint: cd player failed. *jb .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: whenever vehicle has been started srs light would come on and remain on until vehicle has been shutdown. sometimes srs would flash off/on. had taken vehicle to dealership, and mechanic replaced passen

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Seats
Complaint: driver seriousely injured as result of seat failure, driver throwen back and then forward in rear end crash, seat belt useless and air bags did not open. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Turn Signal
Complaint: after turning on the turn signal, it came on and off on its own. consumer took vehicle to the dealership for analysis. *ak .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Brake light switch
Complaint: vehicle experiences problems with the cruise control, dealer has replaced the ecu and found a loose connector inside the cruise contorl box, the tcl light is illuminated and dealer feels this is linke

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: vehicle experiences problems with the cruise control, dealer has replaced the ecu and found a loose connector inside the cruise contorl box, the tcl light is illuminated and dealer feels this is linke

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Fuel System
Complaint: engine is missing. gas is not circulating throughout engine. engine check light illuminates on and off. dealer can't find cause. *ak consumer adds engine not producing enough power. also experienc

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Headlight
Complaint: on a 2 occassions, on my 2001 eclipse, the headlight connectors on both sides were melted from some kind of arcing. also the fuel door broke and was rusted considerably from just normal wear and tear

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Headlight
Complaint: headlights went out. bought new bulbs to replace. both plugs to the headlight bulbs had melted. told by dealer it was not covered by warranty and was not an electrical problem. *nm .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Headlight
Complaint: headlights began to go out, but moving wire connection on back of headlamps would correct the problem momentarily. problem occurred more and more frequently, and one headlamp stopped functioning alto

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Headlight
Complaint: vehicle experiences problems with the cruise control, dealer has replaced the ecu and found a loose connector inside the cruise contorl box, the tcl light is illuminated and dealer feels this is linke

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - LPG Water Heater
Complaint: there is a foul odor coming thru the vents when her heat is on. vehicle has been taken the vehicle to the dealer 3 times and they can not find out where the smell is coming from. ph .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Other
Complaint: the first week of buying the car i noticed a little scratch by the front drivers side tire. then i started hearing little squeaking noises when i was reversing coming from the same left tire. then i

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Other
Complaint: no injuries: a blow out within a 2 yr period, front left tire flat 13 times, replaced that rim 3 times. drivers side door, left side of hood, left rear by trunk does not align properly to the right

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Other
Complaint: moldings have been replaced twice on each side. (left and right) last time the dealer cement glued them to the frame of the car only to fly off again. at highway speeds or with top down this is abl

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Other
Complaint: srs light has come on & off several times in the last 6000 miles the service department has replaced seats for the side airbags the light still comes on & off the car has recently been in a collision

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Other
Complaint: also i found shattered glass under the rear seats, which appears to be rear windshield glass. my car always pulls to the right and my right side window does not close properly. i just wanted to know i

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Other Fuel Tank
Complaint: on a 2 occassions, on my 2001 eclipse, the headlight connectors on both sides were melted from some kind of arcing. also the fuel door broke and was rusted considerably from just normal wear and tear

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Seat Recliner
Complaint: while vehicle was stopping, another vehicle rear-ended consumer's vehicle a t 40 mph. during impact, locking mechansim that held driver's seatback in an upright position broke, causing seat to

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Seats
Complaint: emergency brake lever was out of adjustment causing it to be loose. nlm .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Seats
Complaint: i was decelerating and was traveling at about 20 mph. a dodge durango traveling at about 45 mph rear ended me. the seat back broke and was in a reclined position after the accident. i hit the car i

2002 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 02 - Other Fuel Tank
Complaint: consumer states that the gas tank has a hole in it. cause is unknown. please provide any further information. ts .

2002 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 02 - Other Fuel Injection
Complaint: my "service engine soon" light came on, there was a "miss" in the engine and when tested by the dealership determined that i had a "bad" spark plug so did a replacement. i picked it up drove about 5 m

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Door Latch
Complaint: the passenger side door was equipped with automatic locks which did not function unless supplied with electricity. the drivers' side door unlocked/opened by pulling the handle. *jb .

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Fog light
Complaint: i had the car, about for 5 to 6 months, and one day i was heading out to a friends when i realized that my fog light was busted. i knew i never hit anything of that sort or had anything hit it. i to

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Fog light
Complaint: hi, i bought my eclipse in september 2003 and a month later one of my external fog lights broke without any reason, i went to the dealer and told me that must be a rock hitting the fog light and that

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Fuel Pump
Complaint: my 2003 eclipse gts has been serviced for about 10 different things in a matter of 8 months. 4 seperate times i had brought it in for a jerking automatic transmission 3 times they told me nothing was

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Headlight
Complaint: i pruchased a 2003 eclipse in may 2002 and now the coating on my headlights is cracking. *ak .

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Other
Complaint: we bought a 2003 eclipse from sun coast mis. right away we complained about the smell of mold. finally we took the car in on a rainy day and my wife got out of the back seat totally wet. they repair

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Other
Complaint: we bought a 2003 eclipse from sun coast mis. right away we complained about the smell of mold. finally we took the car in on a rainy day and my wife got out of the back seat totally wet. they repair



Based on component classification data of National Highway Traffic and Safety Adminstration (NHTSA).

Last Update: August 28, 2004