Mitsubishi eclipse engine

Mitsubishi! > Cars > Problems/Complaints > USA > Parts > engine > eclipse



1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt broke prior to recall, causing damage to piston. *skd .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt broke three times. *dh .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Engine
Complaint: spark plug wires failed. *slc .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Engine
Complaint: headlamp failure due to wiring harness malfunctioning. consumer was seeking reimbursement since the headlights were on recall. *yh....*ak .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Engine
Complaint: motor blewup due to a timing chain failure. *ak .

1990 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 90 - Gas Engine
Complaint: no summary .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt failed at 47,000 miles, not due for maintenance until 60,000 miles per manual. .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Engine
Complaint: recall work on timing belt performed (40,000) however failed resulting in damage to engine when belt failed. .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Engine
Complaint: the harmonic balancer failed. nlm .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt went out while driving up incline; lost all vehicle power; would not restart; towed to dealership; speed 55 mph. tt .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Gas Engine
Complaint: computer fails causing car to surge and stop, usually at highway speeds. brake rotors warp and cause steerwheel vibration when braking .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Gas Engine
Complaint: oil sending unit went out on the vehicle pep boys in north little ar had vehicle for 5 months trying to repair , if this has anything to do with a recall could i please be notified. i have received no

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Gas Engine
Complaint: at 7,000 mile the oil is leaking on the crankshaft, had to replace the seal four times . please describe . *ak .

1991 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 91 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine failure, causing vehicle to stall. *ak .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt broke, also lifters replaced due to tapping noise. *skd .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Engine
Complaint: vehicle experiences vibration during braking; also, driver's side window difficult to roll up/fails to seal properly/engine valve cover leak. *ak .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Engine
Complaint: vehicle leaks oil on driveway at all time. dealer has repaired vehicle, but problem keeps returning . manufacturer has been notified. please provide further informaton. *ak .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: vehicle stalls out while driving, due to overheating problems, replaced thermostat to no avail, now dealer wants to replace the hose. tt .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine intermittently stumbles/loses power without warning. *dsh .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine shifter seals leaking down the converter, in for repair 5 times. tt .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: the vehicles crank pulley shaft came apart while driving. *nlm .

1992 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 92 - Muffler Tail pipe
Complaint: timing belt broke, also lifters replaced due to tapping noise. *skd .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Engine
Complaint: engine/oil pump failed. .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Engine
Complaint: when drivng and upon depressing brake pedal to make a normal stop timing belt broke off from engine, causing major damage to engine. consumer has contacted dealer, dealer noted entire engine n

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Exhaust Emission
Complaint: car surges continually...while driving at slower speeds and also when in gear. vehicle scan indicated oxygen sensor. oxygen sensor replaced...problem still exists. 3 auto repair shops could not l

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Gas Engine
Complaint: water pump bypass hose clamp weak, causing anti-freeze to leak onto engine. .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Gas Engine
Complaint: timing belt broke and locked engine, possible valve bent .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Gas Engine
Complaint: i took the vehicle to a mechanic and he said that the thrust bearing had failed causing the motor to spin 2 rod bearings. he also siad this is a common problem for the 93-99 cars known as "crankwalk"

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine has failed, causing consumer to replace engine once and repair it twice.consumer is adding 2 -3 quarts of oil every 500 miles. periodically, vehicle runs rough and sluggish. dealer is aw

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving vehicle caught on fire in the engine compartment. please give any further details. *ak .

1993 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 93 - Hose
Complaint: water pump bypass hose clamp weak, causing anti-freeze to leak onto engine. .

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Engine
Complaint: transmission gears were slipping. also, engine died while driving due to defctiv etiming belt. this is the second timing belt needed for this vehicle. *ak .

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Engine
Complaint: vehicle displayed a lound clunking noise and smoke was coming form engine. upon inspection by the dealer consumer was informed that crankshaft was defective.*ak it was determined that the brakes w

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Gas Engine
Complaint: after purchased the consumer noticed that the vehicle burned 1/2 quart of oil per 1000 miles, now the vehicle burns more than 1/2 quart per 1000 miles and the consumer is now adding 1 quart of oil alm

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Gas Engine
Complaint: oil pressure fails to register above 25% when in idle. dealer notes that engine is basically a throwaway. they quoted approximately $3,600.00 for full replacement. it is not in their best interest

1994 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 94 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle completely cuts off while driving, no warning lights, no prior indication at all, traveling speed 60-65mph. dealer cannot duplicate the problem. *ak vehicle experiences vibration and pulls t

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: car stops running unexpectedly. won't restart right away / must way about an hour. unexpected engine halting causes loss of power steering and power brakes making steering and stopping of vehicle di

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: crankshaft walk. 1995 mits. eclipse 2wd turbo. my son bought this car directly from having the bottom end rebuilt. within 200 miles of drive time the crankshaft sensor went out. the mechanic that did

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: the head gasket failed, which caused fluid to leak. *jb .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: while driving the vehicle stalled and it became hard for the consumer to control the vehicle. *nlm .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: oil leak inside of the engine caused the vehicle to smoke. mechanic noticed a seal broke from the engine, and it needed to be replaced. consumer alleges that the problem is similar to the problem

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: battery is not holding charge, replaced. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: horn failed. *skd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt gears and tensioners failed, causing valve and engine cylinder repair. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt gears and tensioners failed, causing valve and engine cylinder repair. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt gears and tensioners failed, causing valve and engine cylinder repair. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: hello..... i would like to alert you to a major problem reguarding all 1995-1999 mitsubish eclipse cars. all cars are prone to crank walk which will on average do $2,000 to $6000 worth of damage to

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: camshaft started making same noise at 97,000 miles as it did at 47,000 when it failed at 65 mph on the hwy. engine shut down and all power was lost. i am concerned that this will happen again in the

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: i am one of many who have experienced the walking crankshaft problem which requires the replacement of the engine at a cost of approx $4000.00. i have tried to establish a class action lawsuit agains

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: external head gasket leak, causing oil to leak into the spark plug compartments.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: consumer has had to have head gasket replaced three times on vehicle. while driving, vehicle leaks oil. took to dealer for repairs. *ak.*jb .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: the vehicle has defective head gasket which is leaking, causing a possible fire hazard. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: while driving at 65 mph and without prior warning vehicle was cutting off and vibrating. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: when driving vehicle just stopped without prior warning. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: engine would make clinging & banging noises when trying to get engine to start. took vehicle to dealer. was informed by mechanic the flanging that holds the crankshaft in place was the cause of proble

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: vehicle stalls at any speed, had same problem in 1998. dealer replaced engine control unit. *ak the vehicle shuts off suddenly at 20-65 mph. there is oil leak as well due to cylinder head gasket f

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: walking crankshaft came from factory out of round which is preventing vehicle to go into gear. consumer has replaced several parts in clutch assembly. please provide any further details. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: the head gasket is blown, and front end will not stay aligned, and there are other problems. tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: the engine block was manufactured wrong dealer say replace the engine block after changing the engine block the timing belt broke at 1,000 miles . tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine
Complaint: the engine block was manufactured wrong dealer say replace the engine block after changing the engine block the timing belt broke at 1,000 miles . tt .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: no summary. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: temperature gauge rises, and vehicle overheats and will not cool down.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: consumer stated that vehicle constantly stalled. it cut off while consumer was driving on the freeway at 50-60 mph. this was dangerous. he almost got into an accident when vehicle stopped in t

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: temperature gauge rises, and vehicle overheats and will not cool down.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Exhaust Catalytic Convertor
Complaint: emits a strong odor of fuel or exhaust into the cabin, and around the car. previously, they claim to have addressed it, but mitsu asks me to bring it back to let them look again. this is unbearable, a

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Exhaust Emission
Complaint: sunroof does not close completely by motor, and need allan wrench to close it; power door locks do not work; window glass rattles and is loose at weatherstrip; fuel vapors smelled periodically, parti

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Exhaust Emission
Complaint: sunroof does not close completely by motor, and need allan wrench to close it; power door locks do not work; window glass rattles and is loose at weatherstrip; fuel vapors smelled periodically, parti

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Exhaust Emission
Complaint: fuel vapor continually comes into vehicle whether vehicle is on or off, the smell is too much. dealer notified on two occasions, and informed consumer that nothing was found. can nhtsa please help

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle stalls when headlights/air conditioner are on and car is idling. *sd .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine continually leaking oil, not able to fix leak. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: battery is not holding charge, replaced. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: battery is not holding charge, replaced. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while traveling at 30-40 mph vehicle stall without warning. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: after filling at gas station consumer restarted vehicle at which time the the head on the second cylinder made a loud noise and spark plug and part of the engine head were fused and released from the

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine rod failed causing metal to go through the engine damaging it, a few months later while driving the engine began making a loud noise then the vehicle suddenly shut off resulting in loss of stee

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving at 65mph, the engine died. i luckily was safely able to pull to the side. my dealership thinks it is the control unit. it now starts, but the dealership recommends replacing this item

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine completely failed at 75000 miles. records kept and maitained according to manufacturer. they would not replace it. i had to 1300+ to get it fixed. now i have been told i need a new head gasket

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: dealerships make no effort to solve problems, simply say that they don't see it upon inspection. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: i was told by the mehanic that this problem is very common my vehicle, they call it "crankwalk"*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: after three visits to the dealer (sometimes by tow truck), they repeatedly indicated they could not duplicate the problem. on the fourth visit, the engine control unit was replaced. the car would shut

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: more information can be found here: http://www.roadraceengineering.com/walkingcrankshaft.htm. no safety defec tmentioned. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: motor just stopped the car always lost t clutch pedal $3500 to fix bad trust bearing. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: no summary listed for above vehicle. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: i believe the stalling caused the engine failure, dealer does not, ive taken the car to the dealer three times for the stalling, they say it does'nt stall with them. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: no summary listed for above vehicle. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the engine stalls while driving, sometimes will restart. *mjs .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle stalls out any time for no reason, took twice to get looked at and parts were replaced but problem has not been remedied. *et .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: when parking vehicle for a period of time there seems to be a constant oil leak.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: when tryi ng to accelerate and sometimes when changing gears, the engine light comes on and the car loses power and stalls. please give more information.*ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving at 40 mph the vehicle will stall and then cut off completely. after 15 minutes vehicle will restart. owner took vehicle to dealers on three different times for problem and was told th

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: when started engine early in the morning and let it run for few minutes, engine shut off, and the consumer was unable to restart the engine. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving on highway at any rate of speed vehcle will completely shut down without warning, cause unknown. dealer could not identify the cause. please give any further details. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving at highway speeds vehicle will completely shutdown without warning , cause unknown. please give any further details. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle keeps stalling. can be driving down highway and all of a sudden vehicle will lose power and engine die. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: ongoing problem with vehicle continually stalling. vehicle been to dealer on several occasions, and had numerous repairs and parts replaced. but, problem still reoccurring. feel free to provide an

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving the engine will stall without warning. dealer has been contacted. *ak the vehicle towed twice for the same problem. the dealer couldn't duplicate the problem they said possibly, the com

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving 70 mph vehicle will stall. also, will lose power/ steering and brakes will not function properly. contacted dealer, and has had vehicle in shop, but has not solved problem. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: front end misalignment, causing premature tire wear, also pulsating brakes and replaced belts and horn. *ak .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: upon driving my vehicle 5/12/99 the drivebelt began shredding. 5/13/99 the problem fixed with both belts being replaced. while driving on 5/14/99 a belt fell off, resulting both belts gone and loss

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 95 - Radiator
Complaint: during cold weather, the coolant and hand brake indicator lights illuminate. .

1995 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 95 - Engine exhaust
Complaint: while driving there is a strong smell of fumes inside/ outside of vehicle. dealership has been notified of problem, and seemd not to find out what caused it. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Crankcase PCV
Complaint: crankshaft has repositioned itself causing the clutch to become inoperative. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - EGR Valve
Complaint: egr valve solenoid failed, causing vehicle to stutter between gears. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: maintained regular oil changes and was notified that i had an oil leak in my engine. i saved enough money to have the head gasket replaced to fix the oil leak. the head gasket was replaced (new) in

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: car was idling at a very low rpm. i had the car serviced and was still idling very low. when coming to a stop, the car wanted to stall. meaning the rpms dropped to zero and then the idle jumped ext

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: driving at 40mph hydraulic timing belt tensioner failed resulting in idler pulleys to seize and catch fire. had motor not been shut off when it was, motor would have been damaged beyond repair. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: mitsubishi replaced the head gasket at 38,000 miles due to it leaking oil. owner reported it leaking oil 2000 miles later. mitsubishi denied there was a leak. i just had to replace my head gasket at 5

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: prior to expiration of warranty, driver side airbag was determined by dealership that airbag was defective because horn would not work. in january 2001 i had the car in for a head gasket and sked for

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: my eclipse has been in and out of the mitsubishi dealer seven times in a period of three years going into the fourth year for the same problem over and over again being that i would be driving and the

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: oil leaking from head gasket. oil guy told me it could be a factory defect because he has seen this problem in the same models. however, the dealer refused to fix it with no-charge claiming warranty w

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: on january 14 i took my car to punte hills mitsubishi for a recall on the lower control arms. since i was there i asked them to inspect my car for anything that needed to be replaced. at this point

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: engine check light illuminated indicating a problem with head gaskets. dealer replaced head gaskets. however, engine check light remained on. cause unknown. please give any further details.*ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: head gasket failed, it was made of paper, not steel. constant leaks on gasket from where head meets engine. dealer recognized problem, and agreed to replace free of charge if consumer was orig

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: while having vehicle serviced technician noticed that head gasket was leaking oil. technician stated that another engine this size has had a recall. please provide further information.*ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: head gasket has blown, causing leakage of quart of oil about every thousand mile. manufacuter has developed 13 different gaskets to prevent failure, but it does not resolve problem.*ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine
Complaint: engine head gaskets were leaking and causing vehicle to stall when driving above 15 mph. dealer has been contacted for problem, and replaced head gaskets. please provide further details. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine exhaust
Complaint: maintained regular oil changes and was notified that i had an oil leak in my engine. i saved enough money to have the head gasket replaced to fix the oil leak. the head gasket was replaced (new) in

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Engine exhaust
Complaint: on january 14 i took my car to punte hills mitsubishi for a recall on the lower control arms. since i was there i asked them to inspect my car for anything that needed to be replaced. at this point

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine overheating. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle makes high screeching noise when it is cold. .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: i had many problems with this car. the first time happened nov 1997, since i got the car in the spring of 1996, wee i kep my old car and the first winter i used this old car and my new car i kept in

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving vehicle began to loss power and would not accelerate above 15 mph, cause unknown. please give any further details.*ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving vehicle about 35 mph the comsumer had a brake problem. when stepping on brake pedal, trying to stop the vehicle, it took long time to st0p, and when stopping the brakes grabbed on the

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving the vehicle stalled unexpectedly which may cause a crash. been to dealer several times, an d dealer cannot determine the cause. please provide further information. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: white smoke comes out of the tail pipe when vehicle is running. engine is knocking and oil has to be put in vehicle every 3 days. took to dealer, and they have not found cause. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine
Complaint: oil leaks, antenna problems, fuel problem, meaning the car does not run correctly. now the car does not work at all .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: consumer had to replace three times the engine belt which wasn't lining up with the bracket. *ak .

1996 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 96 - Muffler Tail pipe
Complaint: maintained regular oil changes and was notified that i had an oil leak in my engine. i saved enough money to have the head gasket replaced to fix the oil leak. the head gasket was replaced (new) in

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - EGR Valve
Complaint: engine check light was coming on and vehicle was losing gas. check valve had gone bad and needed to be replaced. also, dealer said that if in an accident it would't rollover, it could catch on fir

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: smoke coming from under front tire. after inspection by mitsubishi dealership in lancaster, pa, it was discovered that head gasket is leaking oil. .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: october 20, 2003 i purchased a 1997 eclipse gst from city limit auto in johnston, ri. march 14, 2004 i was driving home when a small click formed in 1st and 2nd gear after reaching 3,500 rpms. with-in

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: timing belt snapped and totally destroyed the engine. .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: 1 and 1/2 years after i bought my "brand new" car, the check engine light went on. i was told that my water pump and gasket needed to be replaced. one week later i experienced a problem with the pow

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: lower pully fell apart at 68500 miles. replaced new pully, two weeks later, new part fell apart on the highway running at 50 mph. mechanics re mounted lower pully the second time in two weeks.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: crankshaft walking is a manufacturer defect in the engine. please look up crankwalk in search engine. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: engine crankshaft failed. *yh .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: driver noticed smoke coming from under vehicle. driver stopped vehicle/ put vehicle in park/ looked under car and saw oil was leaking. when pressing gas consumer could see a flame of fire. took vehi

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: when starting there is a constant oil leak under vehicle. also, a loud knocking noise, mechanic stated there was a malfunction within engine head gasket. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: the consumer vehicle is leaking oil coming from a blown head gasket. please fill in additional information dealer is aware of the problem. ts .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: while driving flywheel broke, causing a loss of control. dealer has been contacted.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: consumer state noticed smoke from tail pipe. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: while traveling notice smoke from tail pipe. also oil leak. dealer has been notified. please provide further inofrmation.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine
Complaint: vehicle is overheating. dealership says that oil gasket and water pump are leaking, and need to be replaced. please provide any additional information/attachments. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: 1 and 1/2 years after i bought my "brand new" car, the check engine light went on. i was told that my water pump and gasket needed to be replaced. one week later i experienced a problem with the pow

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: the temp gauge goes up and with the air cond on .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: vehicle is overheating. dealership says that oil gasket and water pump are leaking, and need to be replaced. please provide any additional information/attachments. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine exhaust
Complaint: evaporative emission control system leak. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: on august 8, 2003, my son purchased a 1997 mitsubishi eclipse, 97037 miles, from ed emadi-owner, south bay auto-dl#32493. we purchased the car for $8,849.21. on august 11, 2003, the engine blow becaus

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: engine has high pitch rave noise when starting in the morning, engine idles intermentently when in neutral, replace timing belt. .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehcile stalls when driving or changing gears, and looses all power steering, when power steering was lost consumer ran into a curb.*jb .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehcile stalls when driving or changing gears, and looses all power steering, when power steering was lost consumer ran into a curb.*jb .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the vehicle experienced two engine failures within 6 months, the engine simply stopped functioning without warning, the consumer was told that the thrust bearing failed causing the engine to fail. nl

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the vehicle experienced two engine failures within 6 months, the engine simply stopped functioning without warning, the consumer was told that the thrust bearing failed causing the engine to fail. nl

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the consumer experienced two engine failures within six months. the consumer was told that the problem was in the thrust bearing which holds the camshaft in the engine. this bearing has a tendency to

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the consumer experienced two engine failures within six months. the consumer was told that the problem was in the thrust bearing which holds the camshaft in the engine. this bearing has a tendency to

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the car is missing and makes a knocking sound, hard vibration when idle and car jerks, does not seem to shift up to next gear, engine light comes on. have taken care into dealership for repair for sa

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vechile repeatedly fails to start. it has the sensation that it's not getting any fuel. on two separate occasions, the vehicle has died while driving around 25/35mph, again feeling as if it had ran ou

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: there was no indication prior to the engine blowing that there was a problem. the mechanic said there was plenty of oil in it. only a used engine with 63,000 miles on it could be located to repair the

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: well, its one of the defaults that mitsubishi is hiding. its a failure in the crank bearing which causes the clutch not to work properly and a very annoying taping sound when the clutch is pressed.

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: this is a very common problem in 1995 to 1998 eclipses and talons. thrust bearing wears out. replacing the thrust bearing doesn't help! you have to replace the entire engine.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: these cars are not worth the money used to make them!!!!. no safety defect listed. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine fails. happens every 3 or 4 months at various speeds. engine light comes on and engine quits. wait 3 or 4 minutes and car starts normally and will run fine for a few months. i think this coul

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: driver noticed smoke coming from under vehicle. driver stopped vehicle/ put vehicle in park/ looked under car and saw oil was leaking. when pressing gas consumer could see a flame of fire. took vehi

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving on highway going 60 mph the vehicle completelty shut down. the rmp's kept going from 3 to 0 and then the vehicle shut down. vehicle started back up again, this happened three more time

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving about 30 mph consumer stopped at a red light. then tried to move, but vehicle won't move even when he stepped on gas pedal.this problem had happend on the freeway before. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle will stall while driving regardless of speed and without warning. dealer has replaced fuelpump/ ignition switch and computer, but defect still occurs.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: there is a screeching noise in one of belts inside engine. contacted dealer, and dealer has replaced all belts, but problem still occurs.*ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Muffler Tail pipe
Complaint: while vehicle was parked the car caught on fire due to tail pipe overheating/ melting the body and the trunk of the vehicle. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Radiator
Complaint: about a week after purchasing the car, it sat for 3 days while i was away on navy business. when i returned, i had to sit in heavy traffic. i noticed the engine temp gauge was full hot. i finally g

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 97 - Radiator
Complaint: at high velocity rock went through the air opening, hit the radiator,broke it, causing fluid to leak and making the vehicle to stall out.there was no warning of this defect. *ak .

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 97 - Engine
Complaint: the thrust washer is welded to the crankshaft in my car. for whatever reason, there is a defect in the thrust washers that cause there to be an increase in the amount of play in the crankshaft. this c

1997 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 97 - Engine
Complaint: mitsubishi eclipse suck! i was driving on the freeway when my engine shut off! luckly, i was going down hill and was able to coast off to the left, after almost getting hit a couple of times. my mec

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: while having the vehicle serviced at the dealership, they indicated the engine head gasket had a oil leak and needed to be replaced. common problem.*ak it was discovered that the wrong oil filter was

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: vehicle has 90,000 miles and is 1998 manufacturing date. engine and transmission are both completely irreparable. no evidience of low oil level or other maintenance neglect which led to the catastroph

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: had recall done for lateral arm, dealer informed me head gasket was blown, two weeks later both door handles broke off, maybe the door handles shouldn't be made of plastic. the car has been through t

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: lifter ticking at 85000 miles. over $1000 to replace lifters. have not yet replaced the old ones. many people have said have same problem and the new lifters are revised. so why not change faulty o

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: my car has been overheating, and burning coolant. my mechanic inspected the car and found a faulty head gasket. mechanic claims he sees this a lot in the eclipse. this is an expensive replacement job,

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: tensioner bolt snapped in two immediately timing belt shredded, car died, and extensive damage requiring total engine rebuild. *ak .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: dealer replaced lifters at 34000 miles due to ticking, other consumers also complain about lifter tick. i have added mystery oil and prolong to oil and nothing seems to help.*ak .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: i was sold this car as a mitsubishi, it has a chrysler engine one step up from a neon. if i would have wanted a neon by chrysler i would have purchased 2 for the price i paid for my eclipse. the lower

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: consumer states horn is inoperative.*jb .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: air conditioner froze up, snapping the belt, part of the belt went up into inside of timing cover and valve train and locked up other parts. consumer feels this was very dangerous, could have had an

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: air conditioner froze up, snapping the belt, part of the belt went up into inside of timing cover and valve train and locked up other parts. consumer feels this was very dangerous, could have had an

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine
Complaint: when consumer started up vehicle white smoke came from uderneath vehicle, from exhaust pipe. engine was replaced. but consumer had to take it back to dealer because there was a rattling noise

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: vehicle engine coolant leaks, dealer can't find problem,this is 7th repair in under 1 yr .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: no summary listed for abov evehicle. *ak .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: while driving the vehicle lost power. the dealer stated that the sensor needed to be replaced. ts there was an odor in the vehicle, the clutch had gone out, the rear brakes squeaked, and water lea

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine burns oil at approx. 1 qt per week, also has possible leaks in engine with only 69,000 miles on engine. has had regular oil changes for life of engine. brake rotors warped and need replacemen

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Gas Engine
Complaint: after starting the vehicle and idling for three to four minutes, the engine surges up to 6000 rpms. .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: heard a loud sound from under the hood, bad belt that resulted in snapping while driving twice. .

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Muffler Tail pipe
Complaint: when consumer started up vehicle white smoke came from uderneath vehicle, from exhaust pipe. engine was replaced. but consumer had to take it back to dealer because there was a rattling noise

1998 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 98 - Radiator
Complaint: i was sold this car as a mitsubishi, it has a chrysler engine one step up from a neon. if i would have wanted a neon by chrysler i would have purchased 2 for the price i paid for my eclipse. the lower

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Engine
Complaint: head gasket replacement at 80,000 miles. *jb .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Engine
Complaint: crankshaft/ pulley failed, inner & outer rings separated.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Engine
Complaint: while at a repair shop for other repairstechnician informed consumer that engine had a blown head gasket. dealer and manufacturer were notified. feel free to provide any further information.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: after pulling off from a red light, shifting into second we heard a loud bang (like glass breaking). we pulled off the road. a mechanic happened to be traveling right behind us and stopped. the car

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: i had changed the oil in my mitsubishi on 12/20/98 and on 1/7/99 while driving, with cruise control on, my car sounded a knock and completely stopped. i had the car towed to freehold mitsubishi, and

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: occurred for third time today. engine lost power, engine light flashed, regained power. i now have to return to the dealer yet again as this is how the other two power failures started. not a happy mi

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: driving on freeway when battery light came on. shortly after highlights would not turn off. then vehicles lights in dash turn on and off, wipers turn on and off, and vehicle completely loses power at

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: consumer was driving at 40 mph and vehicle shut down without warning in the middle of traffic. dealer has not been contacted. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: oil was leaking out of doors and onto the interior. consumer took car to dealer, and dealer said that it was not under the warranty. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine check light keeps coming on. vehicle has died a couple of times. consumer states vehicle shakes. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving vehicle suddendly lost power, and was barely running at 400-500 rpms, and then it will work as normal. cause is unknown. *ak the dealer replaced the spark plugs and wires when the vehi

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: the upper pulley has squealed for some time now. i took it the dealer where they replaced the belts and blamed the problem on them. this stopped the problem for a short time and has persisted since

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 - Gas Engine Belt Pulley
Complaint: my car just started making a squeaky noise one day right after it started raining and i had only had the car for 4 months.but i thought nothing of it seeing that it would stop 2 days after it rained k

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 99 - Engine
Complaint: main bearing failure @ 65,000 miles. dealership would not replace, or repair. this is a common problem with this model. i am on my 2nd motor with the same problem.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 99 - Engine
Complaint: crankshaft pulley failed because inner and outer rings separated. dealership contacted and reported that they are seeing this on a frequent bases. mechanic and dealership agee that insuffencient glue

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Engine
Complaint: my car has been making a strange sound, so i took it in to the dealership yesterday. they discovered that i was out of oil- though there have been no obvious oil leaks, and the oil light has never co

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Engine
Complaint: car stalled at a stop light for no reason and had difficulty starting again. while driving, car would suddenly lose then regain power. has happened 6 times while driving in the last 3 days. *jb .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Engine Cooling
Complaint: consumer states while driving vehicle without warning and at any speed, vehicle will shake, mechanic states all four rims are dented resulting in vehicle shaking.*jb consumer states this also causes

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Gas Engine
Complaint: i was sitting in the car with it idling eating diner. i noticed smoke coming from under the hood and went inside and called the fire dept. when i returned the car was ingulfed in flames. the car was a

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Gas Engine
Complaint: consumers daughter was driving, noticed black smoke coming through air conditioning vents, vehicle looked to be on fire, consumer took vehicle to dealer, and they could not determine what had cause th

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle is subject to losing power or shutting down while being driven 40-50 mph. dealership is unable to detect cause of problem. please describe details. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Gas Engine
Complaint: while driving at 50 mph, all of a sudden speed drops from 5o mph to 20 mph without warning. driver was able to exit off the road safely. dealership and manufacturer were sent a certified letter abo

2000 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 00 - Muffler Tail pipe
Complaint: i purchased my car new from modesto mitsubishi. at the time it was noted that the sunfroof molding was not installed correctly and was to be replaced. i started having problems with overheating, el

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Engine
Complaint: we lease the vehicle from motor world, my son and myself have had accidents with the car that we feel are a direct result of the car not steering properly, or accelarating properly. i contacted mitsub

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: when driving at an undetermined speed, the vehicle stalled. the consumer had the vehicle towed to the dealer for an inspection. *jb a service timing belt tensioner was installed and the engine d

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: consumer is having problems with the srs light in the dash.*jg .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle experiences problems with the cruise control, dealer has replaced the ecu and found a loose connector inside the cruise contorl box, the tcl light is illuminated and dealer feels this is linke

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: the vehicle rattles when idling and normally when the vehicle is cold. the rattling fades out after being driven for a while but reoccurs every time the vehicle is turned on and off. the consumer loca

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine is missing. gas is not circulating throughout engine. engine check light illuminates on and off. dealer can't find cause. *ak consumer adds engine not producing enough power. also experienc

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: engine is misfiring, vehicle does not have the same power that it used to. contacted dealer, and the dealer was not willing do anything.*ak .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: consumer was driving vehicle at 70 mph when involved in a frontal collision engine flew out of vehicle and neither air bag deployed. mr .

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: when driving there is a rattling noise coming from engine, not there when first starting vehicle. starts a short while later ,and gets louder the longer vehicle is driven. took vehicle to dealer,

2001 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 01 - Gas Engine
Complaint: vehicle will use up about a quart of oil every thousand miles. contacted dealer, and the dealer can't do anything. *ak .

2002 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 02 - Gas Engine
Complaint: a random code failure in the computer lead to repeated engine stalls at stop, and lead to other spark plug fouling and egr valve failure. problem repeats after code is clearded. been repaired 5 time

2002 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 02 - Gas Engine
Complaint: my 2002 eclipse started to sound very loud. itook it back to the dealer.they blew me off . they never checked the car in the shop but they said the car was ok.one week later the engine ceased due to l

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Engine
Complaint: consumer stated while driving at highway speed, the engine shut down which caused loss of power steering . please provide any additional information.*jb .

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Engine
Complaint: when taking an exit off the freeway, the engine shut down which caused loss of power steering. *ph .

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Engine/Cooling
Complaint: oil leak from engine at only 2k miles, dealer is making repair. cause cracked oil pump housing. *la .

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - Exhaust Emission
Complaint: while driving at any speed consumer smelled strong chemical fumes inside the passenger compartment. dealer inspected the vehicle, and could not duplicate or correct the problem. *ak .

2003 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 03 - turbo-charger
Complaint: i have a 2003 ecipse that i have had in the shpo twice because my car is leaking oil. i have had continous run around at the garage waiting for parts etc. i am very dissatisfied with the fact that my



Based on component classification data of National Highway Traffic and Safety Adminstration (NHTSA).

Last Update: August 28, 2004