2000 Mitsubishi montero Problems

Mitsubishi! > Cars > Complaints/Problems > USA > Models > montero > 2000



Sorted by ODI IDs.

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Visibility
ODI No: 10001832 - consumer states windshield wipers do not work when it snows. ts .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Visibility
ODI No: 10002356 - consumer states while driving the vehicle the windshield wipers would stop working. ts .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Engine
ODI No: 10003422 - 2000 mitsubishi montero. the engine failed at 60,058 miles. leith mitsubishi said i did not change the oil and since the warranty expired at 60k miles that they wanted $5000 to replace the e

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Seats Front Coil Spring
ODI No: 10004708 - the coil spring suspension was inadequate to support the weight of the vehicle properly with a full tank of gas not including passengers, which caused the vehicle to bottom out, which result

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Transfer Case
ODI No: 10006510 - transfer case came apart and wheels locked up. *jb ***dimsii ivoq entry posted after 12/12/02 cut-over to artemis****760652 .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Suspension
ODI No: 10008121 - vehicle vibrates at speeds of 55 and above. i've taken it back to the dealership 11 times and i have another appointment on 2/28/02 for this same problem. their solution seems to be to rot

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Hydraulic Brake
ODI No: 10011164 - the brakes were replaced twice. *jb scc .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Body
ODI No: 10015467 - when it rained, water leaked into the passenger cabin via the windshield. the dealer replaced the seal around the windshield, however the problem recurred. *jb .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Brake Disc Rotor
ODI No: 10016752 - with less than 40k miles on my 2000 mitsubishi montero sport, the brake pads have been replaced three times, the rotors replaced once. now two local mechanics tell me that my vehicle's brake

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Wheels Lugs Nuts Bolts
ODI No: 10017343 - the driver side wheel nut and screw broke while driving. *jb tie rod adjustment nut and tie rod were no good, had to replace both ball joints and tie rod. .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Equipment
ODI No: 10020694 - brakes, grind and squeak, had them checked was told that they were fine. also had a front wheel allignment due to right pulling!!!! and also i have experienced when front windows are rolled

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Air conditioner
ODI No: 10022228 - air conditione rcompressor broke. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Latch Lock
ODI No: 10022716 - the rear door will not close and the latches will go up and down intermittently. *ak. .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Door Latch
ODI No: 10024275 - driver's side door latch fell off while traveling on the highway.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Seat Belt Retractor
ODI No: 10030152 - consumer states that driver's front belt will not pull out of the retractor.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Frontal Air Bag
ODI No: 10038127 - consumer complained about non deployment of the air bags. consumer was driving between 30 to 35 mph and was involved in a frontal collision. upon impact, air bags failed to deploy. man

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Battery Cable Tail Lights Transmission Gear PRNDL Brake Hose Pipe Steering Wheel and Handle Bar Sunroof
ODI No: 10040982 - my montero has had significant problems from day one with repeated/numerous visits to several mitsubishi dealerships in my area. i have had all of the same complaints i have read from other

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 10044698 - while driving, the automatic transmission temperature light illuminated. the consumer pulled over to check the owner's manual. the manual stated to pull over and wait until the automatic tra

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Brake Disc
ODI No: 10047034 - i purchased the vehicle in dec of 2000 i started having problems since 6-22-03 i have had 4 sets of break pads 2 sets of rotors, new calipers and the hardware replaced each time. i also too

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Parking Brake Hoses
ODI No: 10049063 - i never received nhtsa campaign id number : 01v027000 issued to mitzibu. owners in feb 2001 which states my vehicle has noncompliant brake vacuum hoses. remedy was to have dealer service c

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Suspension
ODI No: 10056466 - i just bought my montero sport 3 months ago. when testing driving the vehicle i felt pulling to the right and shaking at higher speeds. the dealer said it was just the tires and they would

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Front Suspension
ODI No: 10059621 - while driving at any speed and when depressing the brakes consumer can felt vibration in the steering wheel. sears auto center informed the consumer that the front shocks needed to be rep

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Muffler Tail pipe
ODI No: 10060186 - truck has had a smell similar to natural gas in the cab, especially when idling. the first time we brought it in they checked and found no smell. then we brought in again and found that th

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Air Bag
ODI No: 10065157 - consumer was traveling about 55 mph and experienced a funny little change in pavement. the roads were bad, and the temperature was falling. consumer gripped the steering wheel tightly, t

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Air Bag
ODI No: 10081158 - while following another vehicle through an intersection, the front vehicle changed lanes very fast and left me immedietely behind a vechile stopped delivering mail. i hit my brakes but not

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Engine/Cooling
ODI No: 10083001 - my complaint concerns a technical service bulletin #tsb-00-23-008, issued november 2000. in the bulletin, mitsubishi motors addresses the need to replace the a/t oil pan due to overheating t

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Speed Control
ODI No: 10083651 - when depressing the brakes vehicle surged forward. consumer took vehicle to the dealership for inspection. however, mechanic could not duplicate the problem. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Cruise Control
ODI No: 10088531 - (1) the car's cruise control was set at 65 mph on the freeway. the traffic ahead began to slow, and the driver applied the brakes. the cruise control would not disengage; instead, the engi

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Engine Engine Manual Transmission Seat Belt Retractor Door Wheels
ODI No: 561848 - consumer heard chattering noises, dealer found timing belt and idler, and tensioner pulley were cause of noise, dealer replaced all three components. (attorney for client) *yh .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Body
ODI No: 561926 - consumer states there is excessive pressure in cabin when the window is rolled down.*jb .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Body
ODI No: 562473 - the consumer feels that the clearance from the ground to the bottom of the vehicle is too high, the consumer does not feel secure in the vehicle when encountering sharp curves and unexpected

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Brake Disc Front Suspension
ODI No: 726883 - alignment is off. also, front brakes squeak. the rear is bottoming out when passangers are in the car. this makes the car hard to handle when on the highway or surface streets. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Front Suspension
ODI No: 726908 - vehicle drifts to the right and pulls right when braking. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Body
ODI No: 728002 - the entire vehicle vibrates around 60mph. the wheels have been balanced twice now, and an alignment perormed. i am working with the dealer to determine the problem. i visit a montero spor

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Steering Link Front Suspension
ODI No: 728333 - approaching highway speeds, a vibration occurs at the front end of the vehicle, most noticeable in the steering wheel. moreover, a looseness is noticeable in the steering column exhibiting

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Tires
ODI No: 729382 - advised by dealer to rotate tires every 4000 mi. to avoid failures.( dot number: tire size: 16 ) .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 ABS Antilock
ODI No: 729535 - on 7/13/00, while travelling on city street @ 25-30 mph & maintaining adequate distance ( at least 2 car lengths )from vehicle in front, driver of said vehicle stopped in lane ( at a green l

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Tires Tires
ODI No: 730097 - tires require rotations every 4000 mi. to avoid irregular wear.( dot number: el3fjnm379 tire size: p255-70r16 ) .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Fuel Injection System Fuel Injection System
ODI No: 730101 - hesitation when accelerating from stop. .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Fuel Delivery Fuel Delivery
ODI No: 730748 - every time we refuel a gasoline odor persists inside the vehicle. we do not "top off" the tank and we are careful to avoid getting fuel on our shoes/clothing. .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Gas Engine
ODI No: 734806 - in february, 2000, i had pulled up underneath my home. the car was in park when the motor excelled. i thought something must be wrong with the timing. i turned off the car. i didn't thi

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Gas Tank Filler Other Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 741600 - took my truck back to the dealer on 2/22/01 for engine light that came on. they replaced a leaky fuel cap and engine light went off. told them when i call for service about the 2nd -3rd sh

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Rear Suspension
ODI No: 747306 - the vehicle was sold with inadequate rear coil suspension resulting in the vehicle "bottoming out" with rear passengers. the vehicle was represented to be able to tow 5000#. but due to the

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Frontal Air Bag
ODI No: 747531 - hit a deer at 60 mph. full frontal collision and the airbags did not deploy. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Front Suspension
ODI No: 747641 - my vehicle has not had a catatrophic failure as of yet. however the front suspension components and wheel bearings have degraded rapidly to the point of being unsafe at highway speeds and ha

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Electrical System
ODI No: 748892 - upon starting car, the battery exploded spewing acid all over the engine and hood and causing several dents on both the inside and outside of the hood. this resulting in a total electrical

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Air Bag
ODI No: 749181 - no summary listed for abov evehicle. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Frontal Air Bag Frontal Air Bag Seat Belt Retractor Seat Belt Retractor ABS Antilock ABS Antilock
ODI No: 750217 - as i began to feel faint while driving a mountain highway, i started to pull off the road. i remember putting my foot on the brake and the next thing i knew i had hit a tree. i was able to

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Front Wheel Bearing
ODI No: 750266 - the front wheel bearings have been adjusted twice by mitsubishi dealership mechanics. first time by "courtesy mitsubishi" on stevens creek blvd., san jose ca. the second attempt to have this

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 ABS Antilock
ODI No: 750827 - the vehicle started creaking after the second month , we were originally told that it was new and that it was the interior plastic that was adjusting do to temp. changes. this continued and

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 752373 - after ~ 2hours of highway driving the "n" (neutral) light flashes which indicates that the transmission has overheated. the car most be stopped asap to cool the transmission so as to not da

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Driveshaft
ODI No: 753762 - steering-front end vibrtation. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Rear Suspension
ODI No: 754943 - inadequate rear suspension/suspension sagging. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Front Suspension
ODI No: 755008 - vibrations occur in the steering wheel at moderate speeds, with visible shaking occurring at times. after several visits to the service department, the regional manager met with me and told

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Suspension
ODI No: 8001466 - since purchase of vehicle there has been constant vibration, taken to dealer 4 times. dealer balanced wheels, and did front alignment, this did not remedy the problem.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Frontal Air Bag
ODI No: 8001678 - while traveling at 40-45 mph consumer ran into side of other vehicle head on. consumer's vehicle was totaled after the crash, but two front air bags never deployed in the accident. ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Fuse
ODI No: 8004864 - without any indication horn would sound off. consumer would have too pull horn fuse to stop. dealer has been contacted. please provide further information.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Seats
ODI No: 8010249 - there is a piece of metal sticking out of passenger's side rear seat. these 2 pieces of metal are used to hold frame together. when going over a bump metal hits consumer in the buttocks

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Front Suspension
ODI No: 8014562 - vehicle has had 5 alignment adjustments done. vehicle checked by dealer, who could not advise why problem continued to occur. alignment problems began at 9000 miles. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Fuse Gas Engine
ODI No: 8015086 - vehicle has stalled 3 times. dealer stated it was due to a blown fuse. fuse was replaced, but did not solve problem. please provide additional information.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Windshield
ODI No: 8015681 - noise was coming from front windshield. dealer was notified, and made the repairs. currently, problem is reoccurring. feel free to provide any further information.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Frontal Air Bag
ODI No: 8015688 - vehicle was involved in a frontal collision and neither air bag deployed. feel free to provide any further information.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Steering Column
ODI No: 8015693 - steering would tilt or pull to the right while driving. feel free to provide any further information.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Steering Wheel and Handle Bar
ODI No: 8017730 - while driving at 45mph steering column dropped in driver's lap.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Powe Brake
ODI No: 8021786 - consumer stated that when trying to apply the brakes the brake pedal would go to the floor causing the vehicle to have extended stopping distance and a vehicle accident. problem was due to t

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Seat Belts
ODI No: 8023509 - consumer called complaining about having problems with the rear middle seat belt. also stated that they were trying to install a car seat and the seat belt buckle broke. dealer was contacted

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Body
ODI No: 854716 - design of the roof causes a blind spot, and driver is unableto see overhead traffic lights. dealer notifed. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Bumper
ODI No: 856448 - while backing up there was a slight impact to the rear bumper at less than 10 mph, and the rear bumper broke like it was a piece of glass. dealer has been contacted. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Electrical System
ODI No: 857643 - when applying the brakes the interior and exterior lights go out for a couple of seconds. also, same thing happens with the radio and the windshield wipers. dealer has seen vehicle 3 tim

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 ABS Antilock Speed Control
ODI No: 864970 - intermittently vehicle accelerated suddenly and unexpectedly when brakes were applied. dealer has repaired/inspected the vehicle three times.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Brake Disc Rotor
ODI No: 868131 - when applying brakes rotors will squeak /scratch and will feel a pulsation. dealer will only resurface rotors. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 ABS Antilock Brake Disc Rotor
ODI No: 870474 - at 3000 miles rotors started to warp, brakes would pulse. also, the slower consumer would go the harder it was to stop.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Front Suspension
ODI No: 870806 - while driving from 35 mph and up there is vibration coming from the front end. vehicle has been taken back to the dealership seven times in the last ten months for this problem. dealership h

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Speed Control
ODI No: 871052 - rented vehicle. speed control locked up at 60mph. driver swerved, and vehicle rolled over, resulting in injuries. vehicle was totalled. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 ABS Antilock
ODI No: 872486 - abs light comes on periodically, but the problem is intermittent. pushing on the brakes, it feels like a delay response in the brakes. consumer will contact the dealer.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Suspension Upper Ball Joint
ODI No: 875528 - a defective upper control arm; dealer replaced the following part on two occasions under warranty. no reason given why this problem continued to reoccur. *ak the dealer states that the up

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Speed Control Link
ODI No: 878580 - when consumer put car in reverse vehicle started to race, and it flew back like gas pedal was stuck. *ak the vehicle accelerated at maximum speed colliding against the garage. *yh .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 879570 - transmission is not shifting properly, and it is difficult to gain speed ,but only at lower speeds. from time to time vehicle will jump out of gear. contacted dealer, and the dealer has ve

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Suspension
ODI No: 882631 - vehicle does not stay in alignment, causing excessive wear on tires. cause is unknown.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 ABS Antilock
ODI No: 882947 - consumer was at a red light with foot on brake pedal and front ended vehicle behind. other driver said that vehicle jumped and hit vehicle.*ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 ABS Antilock Speed Control
ODI No: 882948 - while stopping at a red light light turn green and vehicle accelerated, but vehicle in front did not. consumer stepped on brake pedal, but brakes did not stop vehicle that jumped into

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Engine Windshield Defroster Heater
ODI No: 883074 - while driving heard noise coming from engine. then, took vehicle to dealer, they found engine block was cracked. also, discovered that heater core separated. took vehicle back to dealer f

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 ABS Antilock
ODI No: 884114 - there is a recall 01v027000. dealer does not have any parts in, and they haven't given consumer a date on when they will receive the parts. *ak .

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Brake Hose Pipe
ODI No: 884558 - consumer contacted dealership in regard to recall notice 01v027000/brake hoses. dealership informed consumer that parts were unavailable. has yet contacted consumer to inform him that d

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 ABS Antilock Brake Disc Pad
ODI No: 886734 - vehicle was riding sluggish, but braking distance was fine. dealer replaced brake pads that were worn out. consumer believed brake were sticking. currently, vehicle's performance is better

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO SPORT 00 Brake Vacuum Power Brakes Hose
ODI No: 887567 - consumer received recall 01v027000 on brake vacuum hoses . dealership stated that parts were not available to repair defect, and did not know when they would receive parts. also, bra

2000 Mitsubishi MONTERO 00 Brake Steering Tires
ODI No: 9005438 - knocking in the front end between the two tires, steering, brakes, knocking and other noise, pulling to the left, tires wearing both inside and outside of front tires. noticed tire were cuff



Source Mitsubishi Problems/Defects/Complaints from National Highway Traffic and Safety Adminstration (NHTSA)

Last Update: August 28, 2004