1999 Mitsubishi eclipse Problems

Mitsubishi! > Cars > Complaints/Problems > USA > Models > eclipse > 1999



Sorted by ODI IDs.

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 10000572 - my 99 eclipse has now 84,000 miles. on november 8 2002 my automatic transmission lost third gear, i had it replaced and now the second transmission went out. the first transmission had the

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 10000617 - my car is leaking black sealing on both doors. the black sealant melts from somewhere inside the door plastic cover and comes out on the bottom. it hardens and looks like sticky tar. trie

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Seats
ODI No: 10008782 - the seat broke while driver was on the highway. we took it to the dealership and service person indicated that seat broke due to over heating during the welding. my concern is that the weldi

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine Belt Pulley
ODI No: 10018483 - the upper pulley has squealed for some time now. i took it the dealer where they replaced the belts and blamed the problem on them. this stopped the problem for a short time and has persi

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Suspension Lower Ball Joint
ODI No: 10024337 - the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a recall 00v421001 repair on 4/12/2001 concerning lower ball joint boot. dealer inspected the parts and resealed the joint. recently, consumer hea

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Clutch Manual Transmission
ODI No: 10025536 - clutch failed at 51,000 miles as a result of a bad master clutch cylinder. within 30 miles, harmonic balancer failed.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door Latch Manual Transmission
ODI No: 10029320 - manual transmission failure. stick shift would pop out of 5th gear on occassion and then started to pop out of gear in 4th then complete transmission failure. car has less than 43000 miles o

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 99 Engine
ODI No: 10049713 - main bearing failure @ 65,000 miles. dealership would not replace, or repair. this is a common problem with this model. i am on my 2nd motor with the same problem.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Engine
ODI No: 10055001 - head gasket replacement at 80,000 miles. *jb .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Steering
ODI No: 10057790 - while traveling 20 mph consumer turned the steering wheel and vehicle kept straight. as a result consumer hit a tree. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Power Steering
ODI No: 10057890 - while driving around a curve 20 mph on wet pavement vehicle lost power, causing consumer to lose control which resulted in a crash. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Steering
ODI No: 10057909 - while driving at 15 mph driver turned the steering wheel to make a turn, but the vehicle did not respond. as a result, driver lost control, vehicle went airborne and landed in a neighbor's

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Body
ODI No: 10059872 - dashboard was coming apart. if the vehicle was involved in a collision pieces of the dashboard could injure passengers. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Suspension Lower Ball Joint
ODI No: 10066804 - while driving 60 mph front driver side lower ball joint snapped. consumer managed to pull over, and had the vehicle towed. dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine Belt Pulley
ODI No: 10067982 - my car just started making a squeaky noise one day right after it started raining and i had only had the car for 4 months.but i thought nothing of it seeing that it would stop 2 days after i

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door Hinge
ODI No: 10075263 - under normal operation the door handle on the driver's side of my 1999 mitsubishi eclispe broke off. the door handle will need to be replaced by the dealer for the price of $72.00 plus pain

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Engine/Cooling
ODI No: 10080649 - after pulling off from a red light, shifting into second we heard a loud bang (like glass breaking). we pulled off the road. a mechanic happened to be traveling right behind us and stopped

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door Latch
ODI No: 10082279 - as i was getting into my car, my driver's side door handle fell off into my hand. i am now having to open the door by getting in on the passenger side and opening my door through the inside

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door Latch
ODI No: 10083194 - while trying to open the drivers door on my son's 1999 eclipse the door handle just broke off in my hand causing my son to have to enter the car from the passenger side. i questioned other p

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Wheel Rim
ODI No: 10088339 - i own a 1999 mitsubishi eclipse gsx with 17 inch rims. i was forced to replace the right front rim and tire after the rim became bent due to unknown reasons and caused a bubble in the tire,

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Clutch
ODI No: 543693 - clutch failed at three months. .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 546108 - automatic transmission failed resulting in lock up 13 days after purchased new. mjs .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Brake Disc Pad Brake Disc Pad
ODI No: 547442 - premature wear of the brake pads caused noise. mjs .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 547465 - transmission locked up. *yc .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Brake Disc Pad Brake Disc Rotor Front Suspension
ODI No: 550036 - front brake pads and machined rotors failure causing the brakes to squeak. yh .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 99 Clutch
ODI No: 560005 - while driving the clutch broke into pieces/disintegrated, there were no signs of a problem with the clutch. nlm .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Interior wiring
ODI No: 561286 - the vehicle caught fire while parked, it appears that the fire started under the dash on the passenger side where the passenger side air bag is located. nlm .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Manual Transmission
ODI No: 566486 - consumer states that transmission began making a rattling noise, the transmission was rebuilt and consumer is requesting reimbursement, vehicles warranty does not end until 60000 miles. *s

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine
ODI No: 702201 - i had changed the oil in my mitsubishi on 12/20/98 and on 1/7/99 while driving, with cruise control on, my car sounded a knock and completely stopped. i had the car towed to freehold mitsub

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Air conditioner Automatic Transmission Rack and Pinion Steering
ODI No: 710650 - transmission got stuck on 2nd gear, then another occasion in 3rd gear, cause: blown circuit/sensor.... air cond. does not turn on at all at times, not even the fan, turns on by itself after

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Brake Disc
ODI No: 715598 - problem seems to occur when tires/brake system gets wet; upon making a right hand turn, brakes lock and car pulls to left; second incident 10/25/99 .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine
ODI No: 716687 - occurred for third time today. engine lost power, engine light flashed, regained power. i now have to return to the dealer yet again as this is how the other two power failures started. not

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Body
ODI No: 717722 - the car leaks water through the back of the vehicle. trunk filled with water, spilled over divider between passenger compartment and hatch, travels up to drivers seat. water present molded

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 717818 - black sealant dripping from bottom of both interior door panels onto sill plates. no safety defect (s) listed in the summary. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Parking Brake
ODI No: 729594 - car is an automatic; parked in an "outpouching" of driveway; in park with parking brake on; car was not on!!! i was in passenger side reaching under seat; car drifted across driveway,crashed

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Air Bag
ODI No: 733754 - neither air bags did not deploy in major car accident. previously the all censors in the car needed to be replaced i wonder if this was not the cause of the airbags not deploying. are airb

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Manual Transmission Manual Transmission
ODI No: 734276 - detent ball/spring and insert key (dog) jumped out of 3rd/4th gear inner synchro hub causing gearbox failure, warranty denied by manufacturer/dealer. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Radio CD Player Door
ODI No: 736019 - door on driver side leaks sealant-have taken to dealer 4 times. 1st excuse was the heat was melting it (s. texas)--it's not that hot anymore....also, stereo cd player is not playing cd's--i

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Manual Transmission Transfer Case
ODI No: 737372 - all dsm awd models from 1990 to 1998 have had this transfer case problem and subsequent recall. upon inspection by a local aamco shop, it was determined that there was very little, if any, l

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Roof Pillar
ODI No: 738470 - top has been fixed 6 times within 14 months. still leaks, standing water in passenger seat floorboards. rear and front seats soaked whenever it rains. car smells moldy, possible rust or e

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission Speed Control
ODI No: 740234 - the speed sensors are bad on the car causing the transmission to be stuck in second gear. this is the second time this happened. both incidents were reported to the dealership and the firs

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Body
ODI No: 742525 - have had the vehicle into dealership 5 times to reapir leaks..still leaking...front seats both passanger and driver are repeatedly soaked and car now has mildew & mold problems .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 742921 - transmission blew up at 43,000 miles. 2nd transmission keeps having problems. jerks into gear and sometimes gets stuck in gear. oil pan has a leak has been fixed two times now.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Interior wiring
ODI No: 744080 - car had been driven a short distance. the driver got out of the car when it spontaneously caughton fire. true cause and origin of the fire is unknow as mitsubishi does not wish to speak w

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Air Brake HoseLine
ODI No: 750721 - door handle on driver side broke off in my hand causing door to be inoperable from the outside in an emergency this could be fatal to ocupants befor the repairs could be done on the drivers

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 751325 - door handles are poorly designed. they break very easily and can not be opened from outside in case of accident. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 99 Engine
ODI No: 751913 - crankshaft pulley failed because inner and outer rings separated. dealership contacted and reported that they are seeing this on a frequent bases. mechanic and dealership agee that insuffen

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Ignition Other Cruise Control
ODI No: 752200 - since the first month i have owned the car, the car frequently idles low (~500rpm) when the weather is warm. car has no power and will sometimes stall when i remove my foot from the gas. c

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Front Suspension
ODI No: 754865 - approximately 2 months ago, received safety recall repair. took to dealership to have repaired under recall. took a trip and while coming to a stop the wheel came detatched from the suspen

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 755660 - both doors leak water onto door sill. all seals replaced 3 times by dealer. leak still occurs. if car is jacked up on one side water leaks through speaker cover onto floor. hopless to fix co

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Front Suspension Control Arm
ODI No: 756169 - there was a recall on the front ball joints which i'm convinced lead to the uneven wear of the front tires. after the replacement nnoone in the service dept. revealed to me about the fact th

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE SPYDER 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 757171 - initial failure of transmission resulted in tow on major highway; replacement failure resulted in tow on major highway; still no resolution to problem. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Brake Disc
ODI No: 757332 - the car shakes wile braking @ or around 40 miles an hour. dealer reported the cause as rotor run out on the front brakes and turned rotors to resolve the problem. soon afterwards, i report

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 757335 - gears on car weren't shifting on acceleration;stayed in low gear. turned out to be a bad input sensor with pieces of metal around it. during a transmission maintenance the same day, there

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 760515 - on 2/6/02 i took my car to anaheim mitsubishi with possibility that transmission was slipping and that the vehicle was running rough and almost dies when i come to a stop. mitsubishi states

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Engine
ODI No: 761044 - crankshaft/ pulley failed, inner & outer rings separated.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Battery Battery Fuse Interior wiring Gas Engine
ODI No: 762328 - driving on freeway when battery light came on. shortly after highlights would not turn off. then vehicles lights in dash turn on and off, wipers turn on and off, and vehicle completely loses

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Power Steering
ODI No: 765100 - while turning corner, sterring goes out, very difficult to control car and make turn. once turn is completed steering seems fine again. this is a intermittent problem. have taken to the d

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 765490 - passenger door handle came off when opened normally, 2 weeks later drivers side came off under same conditions, very poor material or engineering. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 765818 - automobile was purchased with complaints about transmission not working properly. dealer supposedly checked out the situation, and stated nothing was wrong. transmission failed less than t

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 765964 - both outside door handles have broken off in the process of normal operation. materials are poor quality.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Wheel Rim
ODI No: 766670 - these are the oem 17" rim from a 1999 eclipse gsx, all 4 rims are dented and the clear coat is coming off.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 768853 - mitsubishi said both doors need to be torn down and all the glue/insulation removed and recoated and it would take at least a week and expensive. my car can't be the only one this is happeni

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Rack and Pinion Steering
ODI No: 784992 - the steering rack and and gear failed causing the vehicle to handle poorly around curves, dealer has replaced, however consumer states this one is broke too, there is a loud pinging noise co

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 8008826 - while driving at 30 mph and trying to change gears transmission became stuck in third gear. contacted dealer, and the dealer was not willing to do anything.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Wheel Rim
ODI No: 8009584 - material of rims is too soft, 3 of 4 rims are bent.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door Windshield
ODI No: 8009736 - while consumers daughter was getting into automobile, she attempted to open door and both handles fell off. *ak. consumer stated the temperature was very hot and the door handles just fell

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Wheel Rim
ODI No: 8010759 - consumer states the rim is causing loss of air in the front left tire. dealer and the manufacturer were not notified . feel free to provide any further information.*jb .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Engine
ODI No: 8012089 - while at a repair shop for other repairstechnician informed consumer that engine had a blown head gasket. dealer and manufacturer were notified. feel free to provide any further informati

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 8013600 - adhesive was dripping from passenger's door and driver's door to bottom of door panel. dealer had no solution. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 8014628 - driver's side door handle fell off while getting into vehicle. dealer contacted. feel free to provide any further information.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 8017627 - passenger outside door handle fell off while opening the door. dealer was not notified at this time. feel free to provide any further information.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Manual Transmission
ODI No: 8020620 - consumer states that while driving at any speed and no warning the vehicle will stall and it will be hard for the consumer to control the vehicle. dealer notified. mr .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 833532 - was driving vehicle at 60mph when it downshifted into another gear on its own, to a lower speed. it locked in on lower speed. has taken vehicle to dealer 4 times for problem. this happened t

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Speed Control
ODI No: 836342 - the vehicle does not stay set on high speeds. if cruise control is set for 80mph the vehicle will drop down 5 or 10 mph less without warning. dealer says it's made so that driver can't driv

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Front Suspension
ODI No: 836622 - consumer has had vehicle in repair shop three different times, and the alignment can not be corrected , vehicle still pulls to the right. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine
ODI No: 839171 - consumer was driving at 40 mph and vehicle shut down without warning in the middle of traffic. dealer has not been contacted. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Brake Disc Rotor
ODI No: 848912 - when applying the brakes in a normal braking situation vehicle would jerk. the vehicle was taken to the dealership where the brake rotors were replaced because of warping. also there was a

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine
ODI No: 850270 - oil was leaking out of doors and onto the interior. consumer took car to dealer, and dealer said that it was not under the warranty. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission Brake Disc Rotor
ODI No: 852236 - after applying the brakes to slow down for a stop, transmission would shift & then jerk forward. took vehicle to dealer & informed consumer the brake rotors were warped & needed to be turn

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Seats
ODI No: 852567 - due to design of seat belts when in use fabric would fold & bind up & get into the locking mechanism,causing it to jam solid, resulting in no movement. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 ABS Antilock
ODI No: 852756 - when the brakes are applied they grab and the vehicle vibrates. dealer has replaced the brake system earlier. manufacturer has been notified. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Automatic Transmission
ODI No: 853944 - while driving in fourth gear vehicle will jump out of fourth into neutral on its own. the dealer been contacted. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Electrical Equipment
ODI No: 862681 - while driving about 65 mph and when using the lighter, it popped out, landing on driver's seat while driver had to keep eyes on the road at the same time. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Ignition
ODI No: 873063 - when driving at any speed vehicle will cut off without prior warning, causing loss of all power. consumer has contacted dealer. dealer was unable to determine the cause. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Brake Disc Rotor
ODI No: 873791 - the rotors have to machined every few months. they were replaced at beginning of septembet 2000. dealer has no explanation why. front end rattles toward driver's side.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Frontal Air Bag
ODI No: 875290 - consumer was involved in a low speed collision in which driver's and passenger's air bags did not deploy, cause unknown. please give any further details.*ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine Other
ODI No: 877257 - engine check light keeps coming on. vehicle has died a couple of times. consumer states vehicle shakes. *ak .

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Gas Engine
ODI No: 881675 - while driving vehicle suddendly lost power, and was barely running at 400-500 rpms, and then it will work as normal. cause is unknown. *ak the dealer replaced the spark plugs and wires whe

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Frontal Air Bag
ODI No: 882790 - when involved in an accident driver's and passenger's airbags did not fully deploy, and had holes 1" to 3" diameter burned in them. consumer traveling at approximately 45 mph when a vehicle

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Door
ODI No: 892239 - both doors are leaking a glue like substance, and it is causing doors to stick. consumer feels that in an accident consumer may not be able to exit vehicle. consumer has contacted dealer

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Steering
ODI No: 898113 - while driving and trying to turn steering wheel couldn't do it. consumer lost control of vehicle. vehicle would not tunrn in the direction that consumer turned wheel. consumer contacted d

1999 Mitsubishi ECLIPSE 99 Power Train
ODI No: 9004708 - vehicle was in motion and the transmission completly disintegrated, causing an unsafe condition. .



Source Mitsubishi Problems/Defects/Complaints from National Highway Traffic and Safety Adminstration (NHTSA)

Last Update: August 28, 2004